2022 Concours d’Elegance at Copshaholm Announces Winners

SOUTH BEND, IN – The 2022 Concours d’Elegance at Copshaholm is pleased to announce this year’s award winners. Competition was extremely tight, drawing entrants from more than thirteen states.  Capturing Best Of Show was a 1936 Packard Super Eight, owned by Allen & Nancy Strong, from Urbana, IL. It was selected from over 80 vehicles. Renowned automotive historian, Matt Short, served as Chief Judge for the event. His professional experience includes The Henry Ford, The R.E. Olds Museum, the Auburn Cord Duesenberg Automobile Museum, and America’s Packard Museum. He has also served on the boards of the Society of Automotive Historians, the National Association of Automobile Museums, and the Packard Motor Car Foundation.

Other Premier Awards include:

J.M. Studebaker Award, presented to the Most Outstanding Studebaker
1930 Studebaker Dictator – Virgil & Margaret Studebaker, Troy, MO

The Standardized Quality Award: Most Outstanding Chrysler
1932 Chrysler Imperial – Ted & Mary Stahl, Chesterfield, MI

Raymond Loewy Award: Exemplary Exterior Design
1934 Packard Twelve Sport Phaeton – Pete Todo, Hobart, IN

Helen Dryden Award: Exemplary Interior Design
1920 Packard Twin Six Runabout – Timothy Heywood, Frankfort, IL

Fred & Augie Duesenberg Award: Engineering Excellence
1935 Chrysler Airflow – Raymond Jackson, Alsip, IL

Mayor’s Choice
1966 AMC Ambassador 880 – Mark Lemon, South Bend, IN

President’s Choice
1934 Studebaker Commander – John Kircher, Columbus, OH

Dave Kinney Digs This Car Award
1972 Ford Mustang Sprint – Robert Thomas, Indianapolis, IN

The Master of Ceremonies Award
1970 AMC Javelin Mark Donohue – Douglas Gehrke, Plymouth, IN

Chairman’s Choice Award
1970 AMC Javelin Trans-Am – Fritz Helmuth, Topeka, IN

Vivian & Eric LaVine/LaVine Restorations Award: Spirit of the Hobby
1951 Hudson Hornet – Larry Kennedy, Indianapolis, IN



Class A:  Ultimate Luxury: Packard & Pierce-Arrow, 1920-1933
1931 Packard Deluxe Eight – Tom & Donna Tuls, Holland, MI

Class B: Ultimate Luxury: Packard & Pierce Arrow, 1934-1940
1937 Packard Twelve – Gene & Sally Perkins, Greenwood, IN

Class C:  Commanders & Dictators
1936 Studebaker Dictator – Terry & Marcia Frye, Verona, WI

Class D:  Walter’s Chryslers
1930 Chrysler 70 – Tim & Julia Wolfe, Sidney, OH

Class E:  The American Motors Corporation
1970 AMC Rebel Machine – Terry Weiner, Buffalo Grove, IL

Class F: Only In a Jeep
1964 Jeep Station Wagon – Tom & Trish Bishop, Westerville, OH

Class G: Stablemates: The American Pony Car
1970 Ford Shelby Mustang GT 500 – Chuck & Theresa Shelby, Lafayette, IN

Class H: Independent Thinking: Hudson & Nash
1927 Hudson Series O Roadster – Jeff & Karen Ozan, Metamora, MI

Class J:  Personal Luxury
1955 Kaiser Manhattan – Gilbert & Rosemary Chestney, Chelsea, MI

Class K: Teutonic Transportation
1958 Mercedes-Benz 190 SL – Timothy Stronger, Leesburg, IN

Class L: The Avanti at 60
1963 Studebaker Avanti – Fred Mazur, Sarver, PA


1956 Cadillac Coupe DeVille – Dr. Joseph D’Avanzo, Northville, MI


1966 Studebaker Commander – Doug & Katie Hodak, Darien, IL

Next year’s Concours d’Elegance at Copshaholm is scheduled for Saturday, July 8, 2023.  For more information, visit: www.concoursatcopshaholm.org.